Resources and Tips for Beginners to Wappler

Intro

This Guide

This will be about getting started with Wappler when coming from a non-coding background.

This isn’t a tutorial on how to make a site or anything (although those are linked), more talking about what’s involved and a general collection of resources I found useful. As a heads up, I am using ChatGPT to help with some of the explanations.

This will just cover the basics you NEED to know, assuming you are able to learn more advanced stuff as you go.

My Experience

Just thought I’d share generally where I am coming from so you can get a reference to if you are in a similar boat to me or not.

I started using Wappler about a half a way ago. I have no real coding experience, just what I picked up over time using things like WordPress and Bubble. I would describe web design/development as more of a hobby for me. I switched to Wappler because I got frustrated at always trying to find workarounds to simple problems in things like Bubble because they didn’t support it.

Currently, I have just about finished recreating an old WordPress website with a lot of added functionality as well as started work on a social media type project.

The front-end designing part of Wappler is very easy for me to use and understand and has little to no problems.

The database part was very easy after I watched Hyperbyte’s tutorial series (linked later on).

The one place I ran into some problems was when trying to deploy my website to Digital Ocean and get the domain and SSL working, but with help from the amazing community and Wappler team I was able to get it working.

One thing that is a bit too much for me right now is extensions (although I haven’t really given them a go yet). They allow you to add on to Wappler functionality, but you have to code these yourselves. There are some shared on the forum by other Wappler users, and I also think the Wappler team is working on improvements to this area.