Personal intro and advice request

Hello Wappler Community!

I apologize in advance for this long post, which will serve as my introduction to this forum, and as a request for advice.

I am considering becoming a Wappler user but would love to get your views on whether it’s the right option for me. The 14-day trial won’t be enough for me to learn Wappler, so before joining, I’d appreciate your advice.

Regarding my background, I am 47, I grew up in France but spent most of my adult life in Spain, and for the past six years I’ve been living in Melbourne, Australia. I am not a developer, but I want to be able to build some basic web apps for personal projects (eg tracking my expenses and my trips), and for some non-profit organisations I’m engaged with.

My experience of coding is limited to some Basic on an Amstrad when I was a kid, and quite a bit of Microsoft Visual Basic for Applications (VBA), mostly writing macros for Excel. Over 15 years ago I also built a complete application with VBA in Microsoft Access, which ended up being used by around 60 concurrent users in a call centre (clearly a mistake I wouldn’t want to repeat). More recently I’ve been trying Google Apps Script (with a lot of help from ChatGPT). But I’ve been frustrated to be unable to build a proper web app that would be available from anywhere.

I initially looked at several no-code platforms like Bubble, but I want control of the code and hosting. I stumbled upon Wappler a couple of months ago, and I’ve been watching videos, reading documentation and reading this forum. It looks like it could be a good fit. Apart from the freedom of controlling the code and the hosting, I’m hoping it can help me learn to code at a basic level, somewhat similarly to how I learnt VBA by recording macros and then looking at the code that was generated and tweaking it. Is that too optimistic?

My doubts regarding Wappler are the following: