What would Jesus do? JSON, MySQL or something else?

Hi all,
I need to create a hotel/Airbnb-style web for a client. :grinning: I was supposed to design the site using Bootstrap while the client’s in-house server/database guy was going to use Umbraco to create the backend stuff so staff could update the web data, daily. Unfortunately, the server guy left the company :cry: so I want to see what I can do without him.

Since I’m new to all this server/API/JSON/MySQL and Wappler, it’s going to be a steep learning curve but if I’m told what direction I should take, then it would make it a lot easier.

So, my questions are:

• How would YOU set up a hotel/property rental site that requires staff to make changes to their listings from their office? Would you use JSON or MySQL or something else?

• If JSON, do I need to learn JSON straight away or can I copy a JSON file and use it to practice with? Any idea where I could find a rental property JSON file worth copying? (I think there’s a real estate JSON file buried in Wappler somewhere?) How would staff update the info? Would they be expected to update the JSON file on their server and I would point to it?

• Would Wappler’s database be a better solution? How would staff update the database?

I love learning so studying this stuff is not an issue; time and lack of knowledge on what I’m doing, is. If someone points me to the best solution, I can focus my learning on that first.

Thanks in advance.
cy2

1 Like

11 posts were split to a new topic: JSON or Mysql database

Quickly while I’m drinking coffee: