Updating label on switch toggle

Hello !

I’m new to Wappler and a bit lost for now.
Searching through the forum and docs didn’t answer my questions but I might just search with the wrong terminology…

1. I’m trying to understand the difference between dynamic events and dynamic attributes.
    I couldn’t find anything relevant for the latter in the documentation.
    Did I miss something ?

2. I have a switch toggle element.
    And I would like to edit the label attached to it when enabled.
    https://www.screencast.com/t/h8pNtdZS9Fy

I managed to add a “rule” to update an input when the switch is toogled on : https://www.screencast.com/t/fevGqvPD
But I can’t figure out the syntax to make it work on a label, what kind of language is it ?

Plus that would be only half of the job done as I guess I would have to revert the original label value when the switch is toggled off again. And I have no clue on how to do that.
My guess is that I would need to use jquery somewhere…

All suggestions and ressources are welcomed.

Thank you very much for your help ! :slight_smile:

Geoffrey

I’ll answer your first point first. It is easier for this tired old bod to take things one by one so as to not get confused.

An attribute is another word for modifier. An example of an attribute is ‘type’ and ‘name’ for an input field as in
<input type="text" name="fname"> or <input type="hidden" name="lname">

An event is a special type of attribute (confusing?). Events need a trigger caused by an action. Examples of events are

• on load
  • on click
  • on change

An event can be used to change the value of an attribute.

The second point.

Assuming that the toggle switch is based on a checkbox, off will mean that the box is not checked. In this case you can hide one label and show the other label when the checkbox is checked.

1 Like

Thank you very much Ben ! :slight_smile:

In the meantime, I found a solution for my toggle issue :

With the following code :