Database insert into table and sub table

Hi,
I'm a newbie here and despite looking at a number of the tutorial videos and walkthroughs I'm struggling to get my insert to work across both tables and subtable.

Use case is an enquiry is raised by an individual and I am then polling postcode.io via their API to get the local postcode outcodes that are nearby to them

Everything works gathering the postcode data and I can put the first response into the main table without issue. However, when I add the subtable and try to push the outcodes into there (as there could be multiple outcodes per enquiry) I just cant make it work. (ignore my type of calling them endcodes in the naming convention :slight_smile: )

Here is my main insert:

Here is the element for the sub table:

I feel like this is something obvious but cannot get anything into the subtable at all.

Any supprot welcomed

Hopefully, this will help:

Basically, I think what Ben wants to say is you can't directly input an array into a subtable (like you did). You have to use a Repeat step with a Database Insert step (known as Multi Database Insert)

Alternatively, instead of a subtable, you could use a Json/JsonB column

1 Like

I don’t think that’s correct, but I’m too lazy to get off the couch and confirm right now :sloth:

I believe I have API’s that build an array on the server side and then include in a sub table insert. What I recall is that you must include all the necessary columns the table expects, without renaming and without adding anything extraneous.

But like I said I’m basing this on what may be outdated knowledge.

Thanks for the responses everyone. I'm just considering my options here, so have a couple of follow on questions.