A Look Back At Wappler on 2021 Eve + Wishlist

Hi All.
I have been a developer since school, playing around with various technologies and platforms - nothing fancy though, just the regular ones - PHP, ASP, C#, Java, MSSQL, MySQL and otheres. Before Wappler, I was either using Visual Studio IDE for .NET stuff or Notepad etc for PHP.
@nshkrsh and I started our company in 2015 and had been using VS or PHP for everything in the beginning. We also divulged into Webflow for the UI end of things for a couple years, before we found Wappler in December 2018.

I had never used Bootstrap before. Had never used Dreamweaver. Never ever heard of DMXZone.
Getting on board with Wappler with the limited docs was a challenge. I took on a small project with a single pager front-end and a back-end admin panel with a few pages and not too complex functionality.

In initial days, I was not doing very well with Wappler and was expecting it to take ~50% more time than if I would have used my previous tools. But, when I started on the back end, I pretty much saved 70% of my time there!! :exploding_head:
So, overall I ended up putting in about 10-15% extra time with Wappler, because I was learning and building. The time saved in back-end was enough for us to ditch Webflow and to struggle and learn Bootstrap a bit more and use only Wappler for our projects going forward.

Over the course of few more months, we worked on few more projects, learned a lot more and started to feel a bit more comfortable. Later we got a project (which is still on-going :crossed_fingers:) via community here. That helped us make use of many more components of Wappler (we still haven’t used all in the past two years) and understand a few inner workings too. This project has evolved into a huge complex application which someone might not even believe is built on Wappler if shown to them now (although we can’t :shushing_face: ). Same can be said for some of our other Wappler projects too.