Zip an already created folder with Zip Processor how to

I’ve never used the Zip Processor before. What I want to do just is just zip all the files that are in a dynamic folder that has already been updated/created. Seems easy.

Is there any server prep to get the zip processor to work?

I didn’t know if the zip processor would only work when you are also using file upload component? Or it can be used alone? Or if there is a how-to somewhere, I wasn’t able to find one. I found some stuff over at DMXzone, but they all showed using the file upload.

@teodor

Use Zip folder with dynamic path should work, no need for database connections (except if needed to get path)

No luck. I’m guessing it has something to do with that I still use classic asp…

I think you may need to have a load file step before the zip step.

right, I’m not uploading files though? they were already uploaded somewhere else.

Yeah I know, but even with a file upload action, you normally upload the file which saves it to the server, then load the saved file, then add whatever actions to the loaded file and save the file.
Because you are using a folder which I have never tried I am not sure but I would imagine it still needs to load something in order to process it.

EDIT: Im just trying it out for myself now, if I get it working i will let you know how.

great thanks @psweb

Ok got it working. It also had an error at first, but then i realised the Zip File which you named myzip.zip needs a path to know where to save, so try changing that to /assets/orders/myzip.zip

And you were correct there is no load step required for this at all, so i have an action with one step only called zipfile
Name: newZip1
Zip File: /imagesFolder/myzip.zip
Folder: /imagesFolder/testZipFolder

Saved the action and added at to my page as an auto load server connect command, on page load, it takes the entire folder called testZipFolder and creates a new zip file in the /imagesFolder/ called myzip.zip