Tutorials anyone? Trying to work out how to Insert a Record to mysql

Hi.
Can anyone tell me when the documentation will be ready. Im new to Wappler and struggling to work out the steps to get a record to insert into MySql db.

Ive connected to the db ok.
Created a Server Action called Insert.
Created a Database Connection.
Created a Database Insert.
Manually created a form with a text field and a button.

then i get a little lost… :slight_smile:

Hi Jeremy,

Check out this video for the Dreamweaver version to see what you are missing. It may look a little different but the procedure is exactly the same.

That helps up until a point. As the video is for Dreamweaver and this is Wappler, which is quite different.

As i said before, i can follow the steps through for everything in the left hand panels, eg connect and database insert, but where i get stuck is the right panel, eg adding App Connect and then what comes next?

In the video it says choose the add symbol next to Text Data Binding, but i cannot see that in Wappler?

So then i add Bootstrap 4, then i click to add the Bootstrap 4 Form Generator - which then asks for a Data Source - which the opens up Data Bindings - but for me at this stage this is empty. So where do i setup the Data Binding info to then show here?

The form generator is not fully in Wappler yet. I see they released the BS4 Form Generator DW Extension today so I would assume that it will be fully in Wappler in the next update.

1 Like

Hi Jeremy,
In your case as you created your form - make sure it has a name and id, and the method is set to post then in Server Connect panel, click general at the bottom of the panel you will see an import form field button - just browse to your form and click the import button.
This will create POST variables from your form fields under Globals > $_POST.
In the insert step, assign these POST variables as values to the corresponding database table columns.