Observations and Proposals for the Wappler UI

Hi @George,

I said in other posts that I’m not a programmer, so many of the concepts that are common to most experienced people are foreign to me. That said, I still want to maximize the usefulness of my time in front of the tool.

I know that many of the points below are largely a matter of preference and taste, but I want to share some of the issues I find using Wappler in the hope that at least a few can be addressed.

I love Wappler and the quality of the support I get, so let me assure you that all that follows is only with the intention of making it even better.

Observations:

1. Modals like “Properties” are docked, are narrow, cannot be resized, and force to scroll down to find what one wants to edit
  2. I can get used to having left and right zones for server and client work, but I’m not sure there’s much value in that.
  3. Fields are too narrow. This is particularly more annoying when they have complex expressions. Those expressions should be visible to the user without having to copy the and past them on OneNote to see the whole. Having an input field that shows only say 20-30 characters of an expression and allows me to scroll horizontally through is sub-optimal.
  4. Many components seem to be repeated in the menu of components offered when I’m creating a page structure. Examples: I get two modals, two paragraphs, etc. It is not clear if they are indeed different objects, and if so in what do they differ, or are they something that just needs to be cleaned up.
  5. When I click on a statement that has children, the location where I click moves from under the cursor. This is not only distracting but also error prone, because it forces me to have to find where I was when I clicked and many times I don’t have the proper labels in place yet.
  6. The Formatter has many issues: