(NodeJS) Web Push Notifications Extension

Hi. Created an extension with web-push to send push notifications to users!

Below the explanation on how to set it up, apologies for the many steps.

Let me know if you have any issues, ideas or optimisations as I’m still very new in extension development.

Download

Functionality

Allows to send push notifications to users from server connect api’s, you can set it up to only send a notification if user is not active in the tab / page.

This means that the notification will also work when your page is closed, great way to remind users to check something on your app!

Requirements

• Node JS server model
  • Set your generated public and private keys in settings (Explained below)
  • Create a flow in server connect to handle user subscription data
  • Please follow steps below exactly with names etc as otherwise it won’t work

Installation

1. Add files from package

• In your project folder, create /extensions/server_connect/modules (if it does not yet exist)

• Add the “web_push.hjson” and “web_push.js” files into /extensions/server_connect/modules
    Screenshot 2022-09-08 at 18.02.39

• Refresh the Server Actions panel (restarting Wappler is also an option)

• The required libraries will be installed automatically upon use and next deployment

• Add the files “client.js” and “worker.js” folder in the public folder (Directly inside the public folder, not in a sub-folder)

• You should now have a Web Push Notification group in your available actions list for server workflows

2. Add this script tag in your layout page before closing body tag

<script src="/client.js"></script>

3. Generate Vapid Public & Private Keys

Generate the keys with the “Generate Vapid Keys” action from a temporary server connect api. Click on open in browser to copy the generated keys

Keep the page open for now as you will copy and paste these keys below, you can delete this server connect api once the steps below are completed