Help with login and session variables

Hi guys,

I am very new to wappler but experienced with full stack dev. Anyhow i am lost with variables and session variables, it’s very confusing and i don’t seem to find a tutorial for what I’d like to achieve.

I just need the user to login using the security provider and then once logged in save the user id in a session variable that I will use for my DB queries.

i think once I will have understood that I will be able to finish my project :slight_smile:

Thank you!

Firstly welcome to Wappler @Stefdec

This is quite simple once you are aware of the security functionality of Wappler. Within the Server Connect Action you will see the following options available to you:

Security Identity (and Security Provider) contain the necessary details you require. Simple apply this to your Action (drag and drop or click). You can then filter by the logged in User details.

Full documentation (the UI in the tutorial is slightly older but the principle is exactly the same):

Full documentation relating to Security and Login:

1 Like

Maybe this will help you:

1 Like

That was a “Just Arrived” or “Fresh out of the oven” video…
Thanks once again @ben!

1 Like

Thank you, all good now.

I have another quick noob question and i should be all set:

I have links with parameters projectId=1, =projectId=2…
when arriving on the page i select the info of the project using the id passed and then i’d like to save the projectId value in a session variable called currenProjectId in order to use it whenever i want.

Here is what i have done but i don’t think the value is saved or I access it properly

Set my session variable in Globals:

Assign a value to it:

then trying to access in another query:

2 Likes

Thank you but i still can’t access currentProjectId it when running a DB query, do i need to pass it again from the client side? it’s so simple when coding and so complicated here :joy: please help me this is driving me nuts