Formatting Currency

Hi All,

I’m grabbing some numbers from a database and then working out percentages of them (like this)

{{getquote.data.quotebyid[0].grandtotal.toNumber()*0.3)}}

The problem is that i’m now getting 3-* decimal places showing (eg. $8262.554999999998)

The number that comes out of the database only shows 2 decimal places (which is what I want). I can’t for the life of me work out what I’m doing wrong.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks again,
Ben

I’m a total newbie so this is likely not going to help but I have gotten so much help here I’m going to try…

Forgive me if I’m way out in left field.

I was having a problem like that a few weeks ago and it turned out to be cause by placing my .round(2) on the wrong side of a parentheses or missing a parentheses, I can’t remember and of course I did not take notes :frowning:

Hope it helps and good luck!

Hi norcoscia,

Thanks for reaching out :smiley: I was actually looking over the source of your site trying to work out how to do it haha. Still haven’t figured it out (i’m guessing I am missing a bracket or something) - I have fiddled with the position of .round(2) however that doesnt seem to fix it, I know the data formatter has an option to format currency but when I do that it seems to just show nothing. I’ll keep fiddling :slight_smile:

Thanks!
Ben

1 Like

Thanks Ben, BTW, my site would not exist if it was not for the help @drymetal provided (and a ton of it)…

I’m fiddling away here too, since about 4AM trying to get stuff lined up - I sure wish tabs existed in the world of HTML :slight_smile:

haha! This community really is great with all of the help that people give out!
It’s 1:55AM here and I’m still going too! :smiley:

1 Like

Have you tried this?
{{getquote.data.quotebyid[0].grandtotal.formatCurrency("$", “.”, “,”, “2”)}}

Hi turn3636,

yep that works fine but as soon as I try to multiply it breaks.