Docker: Local Databases

Just revisiting a couple Docker sandbox sites I started playing with a few months ago.

1: Can you create a local database with Docker? If so, how?
2: If answer to first question is ‘Yes’, can the local database be accessed with a third party app such as Navicat? With my current MAMP Pro set up I can easily back up my remote database at the end of each day to my local machine by dragging the tables to my local server. Can Docker be used in this way?

Yes, you can connect to the database which Docker creates using any tool of your choice, my example is MySQL Workbench, but you can get the idea which data to copy from your target settings:

1 Like

Why does my target settings look different? I don’t have a place to get database settings from?

Node.js is server type.

Because you are probably not using Docker now … or you messed up with targets and removed the docker target.
Are you using Docker for your project or no? When using Docker, it includes a database server and creates a database for you.

1 Like

I assume I am using Docker …

No it’s not Docker. It’s a simple nodejs project with a custom / own server hosting option selected.
When you create a docker project, you select docker as a hosting and then you see the deploy button.

Wow, now I’m really confused. How is my site working locally without a server?

I can’t figure out how to get that screen as in your screenshot?

Thought this was suppose to be easy :wink: :beers:

As i explained in another topic - Wappler has a built in NodeJS server, which is active when you select NodeJS server model!

My screenshot shows a project set up to use Docker Hosting and yours is not set up like that. Your project/target simply uses “custom hosting”, same as you are used to work with PHP .

I think I am going to start over. lol

If I select Docker Hosting does my remote host (when I get to that point) need to be able to use Docker Hosting? What is required other than Node.js on the remote host?