Ability to show the project in a browser when no server has been selected

Creating a project like:

I should have the ability to view the project within Wappler in a browser like:

Hey Ben,
How and when would that be helpful? Previewing the HTML files directly from the file system is never recommended. Some components and data won’t be loaded this way. Also it won’t be possible to preview PHP / ASP pages.

Also - you already have a real browser (chromium) preview directly in Design View :slight_smile:

Good (early) morning @Teodor,

I am in the process of creating a tutorial for absolute newbies, where a site has been created and saved on the desktop. This person has no knowledge of web servers, let alone PHP / ASP. Yet, this person does want to see what they have created. The browser within Wappler does not allow linking to other pages without a web server.

I will show all in the video when done.

I still don’t think that’s a great idea. I can see many users confused by opening files like that, scripts not working etc. and all of this because the site is simply supposed to run on a server. That’s why we force the users to create a target with a server when using the preview in browser option.

If anyone really really needs to run an HTML file from the file system, they can just browse to the project folder (open in file explorer option) and double click the HTML file.

Just an example:
We’ve already had that user (here in the community) who didn’t have much experience and he was trying to run his website from the file system from an USB stick and was trying to use the json data source component.
Chrome security policy wasn’t loading the json data because of the way the page was loaded in the browser and (of course) immediately that was considered Wappler fault :slight_smile:
I wasn’t really able to explain him that’s not Wappler fault.

I’ll take that on board, Teodor. I’ll change the script in the tutorial to explain that. Good point.