A bit off topic: delivery options for mobile offerings

Short quick series on mobile development

I am realtively new to the board and Wappler, but i thought I could add some value to the mobile side of development

(Background information: I am a full time product manager and developer for web and mobile experiences and app development)

If this is usefull for the wider group, I am happy to share some bits and pieces around mobile app and web development over the time. If so, let me know and I add more basic information around this topic.

Lets start first with the different options we have to deliver mobile experiences to the customer.

When I say “mobile experience”, I mean specially designed experiences for mobile usage, like shorter user journeys for mobile (think of simplified sign up forms, replacing passwords with pins, push and in app notifications, animations and transistions to support communication) or targeted features like biometrical login or widgets for the home screen, to name a few.

Responsive Web

• Single Codebase for Desktop and mobile web (iOS, Android …)
  • Not Distributable via App Stores

Usually one website that addapts between desktop and mobile views with little to no mobile experience.

(Historically, „responsive“ was used to adapt web sites for different desktop screen sizes or to support smaller window sizes and full screen windows. It was not really planned to use „responsive“ as a technology to scale down desktop full hd to a mobile mini screen. Bootstrap specifially with it’s „mobile first“ appraoch changed this.)

Mobile Web

• Two Codebases, one for desktop, one for mobile web (iOS, Android)
  • Not Distributable via App Stores

Websites designed and build for mobile with targeted user experience, e.g. UI and user flows adapted for mobile users.

PWA

• Single Codebase for mobile web (iOS, Android)
  • Not Distributable via App Stores (except TWA/Trusted Web Apps on Android)